The WMAN Steering Committee represents the geographic, gender, and racial diversity that reflects the communities affected by hard rock mining.

The Committee is responsible for guiding the Network, including communications, skills trainings, regional strategy sessions, conference planning, budgeting and fundraising.  Leadership is shared and we seek to make decisions by consensus.

The Steering Committee currently consists of 23 members, nominated and elected by WMAN caucuses at the most recent Network conference. They serve a two-year term. More than half of the current WMAN Steering Committee are community-based indigenous leaders.

Canada Representatives

Canada – North

Aja Mason

Yukon Status of Women Council

Canada – East

Marc Fafard

Sept-Iles-Sans-Uranium (Quebec)

Canada – Central/Prairies

Russel Burns

James Smith Cree Nation/Treaty 6, United For Mining Justice/United Church of Canada (Alberta)

Canada – West


Canada – Indigenous

Donna Ashamock

Cree Nation

Canada – Indigenous

Travis Marr

Stk'emlupsemc te Secwepemc Nation - SSN (British Columbia)

Co-Chair/Canada National

Ugo LaPointe

MiningWatch Canada (Ontario)

United States Representatives

US Southwest

John Hadder

Great Basin Resource Watch (Nevada)

US Northwest

Dave Chambers

Center for Science in Public Participation (CSP2) (Montana)

US Great Plains

Carla Rae Marshall

Black Hills Clean Water Alliance (South Dakota)

US Great Lakes

Lori Andersen

Save Our Sky Blue Waters (Minnesota)

US Alaska

Solaris Gillispie

Northern Alaska Environmental Center

US National

Aaron Mintzes

Earthworks (Washington, D.C.)

US – Indigenous Youth

Jacob Burns

United For Mining Justice/United Church of Canada (Alberta)

US – Indigenous Alaska

Heather Evoy

Southeast Alaska Conservation Council (SEACC)

US – Indigenous National

Chantel Alveshire

Keshna, Wisconsin/Menominee Nation

US – Indigenous National – IEN

Colleen Dodge

Keshna, Wisconsin/Menominee Nation

US – Indigenous Co-Chair

Earl Hatley

Grand Riverkeeper, LEAD Agency (Oklahoma)

Technical, Legal, and Fiscal Representatives

Fiscal Agent

Kerri Nelson Wolenetz

Western Organization of Resource Councils (WORC) Education Project (Montana/Washington DC)

Meet Our Staff Members

WMAN's dedicated staff are here to help you access resources, engage with WMAN Caucuses and community, and to engage you in WMAN activities.

WMAN Staff

Support Western Mining Action Network